Skip to main content

Lawrence Block Papers

Identifier: SCU-RBSC-2019-1

Lawrence Block (born June 24, 1938) is an author of fiction primarily known for his Crime novels, in particular the Matthew Scudder series and the Bernie Rhodenbarr series. Block initially published pulp and erotic fiction novels under a series of pseudonyms before publishing crime fiction under his own name. A list of his pseudonyms, as complete as possible, is found in the Biographical Series. This collection covers the span of Lawrence Block’s publishing career and includes both handwritten and typescript drafts of his manuscripts. The collection has been organized according to the type of material contained within the series. Wherever possible, Block’s original folder titles from his files have been maintained. Oversize materials have been stored following the same order as the rest of the collection. Of particular interest in the collection, beyond Block’s own work, are items that include an edited and notated typescript of The Big Kill by Mickey Spillane, a photocopy of Charles Willeford’s unpublished final novel Grimhaven, responses to a survey of writing techniques sent to the members of the Mystery Writers of America (notable respondents include Isaac Asimov, Mary Higgins Clark, Clive Cussler, and Tony Hillerman), and Block’s correspondence with fellow authors.


  • 1904-2020

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

All rights reside with the creator. For permission to reproduce or publish, please contact the Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.


27 boxes

Biographical / Historical

Lawrence Block (born June 24, 1938) is a Crime fiction author from the state of New York. He attended Antioch College in Ohio for a year before deciding that his work for a publisher in New York City was teaching him more about writing than he could learn in classes. He initially published pulp erotic novels under a variety of pseudonyms before publishing his crime novels under his own name. With his wife, Lynne Wood Block, Lawrence has traveled extensively, not just for pleasure, but also to attend book festivals, present seminars on writing, and pursuing competitive racewalking. Block is a Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America and a past president of the organization, also having served as president of the Private Eye Writers of America. His novels have won four Shamus awards and four Edgar awards, among numerous other accolades.

Custodial History


Repository Details

Part of the Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections Repository

Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library
1322 Greene Street
Columbia SC 29208 USA
(803) 777-3847

Lawrence Block Papers
Language of description
Script of description