Skip to main content

Edwin Hughes Collection of Henry Cowell

Identifier: SCU-MUS-0008

Music manuscripts, correspondence, pamphlets, and journal articles document the professional relationship between Henry Cowell (1897-1965) and Edwin Hughes (1884-1965). The material dates from 1924 to 1977, with the bulk of the material between 1924 and 1928. Undated material appears to be from around the same time. Of particular note are several fair manuscript copies of Cowell’s compositions, one of which, Piece for Piano with Strings, was copied especially for Hughes. Additional informational pamphlets about Cowell were added to the collection shortly after initial processing.


  • 1924 - 1977


Administrative Information

Provenance Edwin Hughes (1884-1965), pianist, music educator, and editor-in-chief of piano music at G. Schirmer from 1920-1926 donated this collection of Henry Cowell materials to the USC Music Library.

Access Materials in the collection are available for use Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. by appointment only. Please telephone 803-777-5139 or email the Music Library for further assistance.

Publication Rights All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the the Music Library.


0.6 Linear Feet

Series Description

I Music Manuscripts II Music Scores III Notes, Correspondence, and Programs IV About Henry Cowell

Physical Location

This collection is housed in the Music Library, which is located in the School of Music at 813 Assembly Street in Room 208 (on the 2nd floor).

Additional Materials

Cowell, Henry. New Musical Resources (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1930). [ML 3800 .C78 N4 1930]

Repository Details

Part of the Music Library Repository

813 Assembly Street, Room 208
School of Music, University of South Carolina
Columbia SC 29208 USA
803-777-1426 (Fax)

Edwin Hughes Collection of Henry Cowell, 1924-1977
Marlyse Hickman (1999) Mark Leach (2004-2005)
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Revision Statements

  • 2011: Revised by Nick Homenda